MINIMALISTIC MASALA POTATOES

 image

Hey there my Lovelies…wondering if I had fled the coop! Well, well I am back, yes back blogging but not in the same place, city or country. To cut a long story short I have moved …city, countries, homes. I am in Super organised, well-lined up, super super clean and extremely disciplined Singapore. Yes it’s a change from chaotic, buzzing, “I-don’t-know- What-hit-me” Mumbai, but its not that big a change, not like I have moved to the North Pole and have to live in an igloo and hunt down seals!!

So here I am living out of a service apartment with no baking equipment, no ingredients or tins. It’s like I have been banished from “bake-land”. I have here 2 pans and 3 pots and 2 knives and 3 tablespoons which double up as serving spoons. So whilst I await my 5 mixers, 20 whisks, a dozen bowls and 50 spatulas (LOL) I am literally living on the kitchen equivalent of a shoestring budget. I had the prudence to pack my masala essentials, though junior man was gunning for the plethora of food courts and restaurants that belt out these incredible aromas and food to match.

Never in my life have I cooked with so few ingredients/ masalas and yet have all dishes turning out surprisingly unique and tasty. There is a significant lesson for me out here, just because you have 10 spices lined up, doesn’t mean you have to use them all a few can do the job just fine. I am learning the art of “masala restraint”.

So in this cubby hole of a kitchen (why are there no spacious kitchens in Singapore? The answer lies in the wonderful food courts ), I decided to whip up some wholesome meals without the usual grumbling and hewing.

image

 

Potatoes…. Since I haven’t yet chanced upon any Indian veges, potatoes are a staple and no ones complaining. My Minimalistic Potatoes are just what the name suggests, no curry leaves, hing (asofoetidia), no mustard seeds popping . Just green chillies, onions, garlic and a few masalas with a generous squeeze of lemon and parsley (coriander if you please). The boys are enjoying the Chinese and Japanese and Korean cuisine, I have no such luck as vegetarian food is not exactly their forte. Hence the aromas of my everyday cooking tide me over my home-sick taste buds.

Wherever I go, new home, new country, new people, new friends….no matter how much I miss home…. I am only as far from my home as my spice box.

RECIPE

Minimalistic Masala Potato

6 large potatoes (boiled till well done but not mushy)

1 large onion (cut into ½ cm cubes)

2 pods garlic chopped fine (almost minced)

1 green chilly cut into 3

2 tblspns oil

1tsp whole cumin

1 tsp. chilly powder

½ tsp Tumeric (haldi)

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground Corriander seeds

1 tsp sugar

Juice of ½ lemon

Salt to taste

A fistful of coriander leaves chopped fine 

Once the potatoes are boiled, cool, peel and cut into cubes or roughly chop

Add a tablespoon of oil to the pan. Add in the onion, garlic and chilly. Fry on a low flame till the onions change colour but do not brown. Add the spices and a tablespoon of water (to prevent them from burning)

Add in the potatoes =, salt, sugar and juice of ½ a lemon. Stir to coat the potato with the masala. Cover and let it simmer for 5 minutes.

Garnish with chopped coriander.

 

 

Leave a Reply

