CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

image

 

Its been a tough, tough few weeks. Change is good, change is needed, but change is a challenge. When in Mumbai I was raving and ranting about the dirty streets, the mad traffic, the choking pollution and dust, the rogue drivers, the incessant honking, the pot-holed roads and the hawkers and the noise….. Now I am in Singapore- the streets are clean, the traffic is disciplined, public transport is beautiful, no one honks, the roads are satin smooth and I have all my wishes fulfilled!! So why am I mopping around house feeling blue, wearing tattered Tees and tracks?? I am so missing home, the buzz, the noise and the constant doorbell that announces the arrival of maids and the vegetable vendor and the fish vendor who argues and haggles for half an hour…Homesick??? Yeah that’s it. The quiet that I so longed for is almost deafening, I hunger for the excitement of driving in and out of narrow, people packed streets, haggling with the vendors in the markets, challenging my lungs to breath in the fumes (that’s an exaggeration …LOL)….so you see I have become a little batty too! Anyways I mustn’t grumble too much….a little dose of Homesickness is good. It teaches you to count your blessings.

On the bright side, the ingredients out here are amazing. I don’t have to go hunting for stuff, its right there in my backyard. Fresh and of the finest quality. So as a pick-me-up I went ahead and bought myself the most expensive butter, the best chocolate chips and got to work on banishing my blues. What better way to do it than with cookies! I particularly like the ones which are cakey in the centre and crispy on the edges and that’s what I found on BBC Good Food. They turned out to be a crowd pleaser (Junior, Senior Man and Me).

image

The dough is not too sweet, so semi-sweet chocolate chips work well, I added some dark chocolate chunks and they were like the surprise element in every bite. Makes you guess….will it be sweet or bitter.

So as I come to the concluding part of my post, I am into my 4th cookie or is it the 6th…. Who cares! They are homey, cakey, dunk-worthy, fill me with joy and maybe someday I’ll have a friend to share them with. Until then I have the whole box to myself!!

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Makes 25-30 cookies

150 grms salted Butter,

100 grms light brown sugar

60 grms granulated sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 large egg

225 grms plain flour

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

¼ teaspoon salt

200 grms semi sweet chocolate chips or chunks (I added some dark chocolate chunks)

  • Beat the butter and sugars till light. Add in the egg an vanilla and mix well.
  • Sift together the flour, salt and soda bicarb. Add to the butter mixture and stir in well till incorporated. Add in the chocolate and mix in.
  • Lightly grease and line your baking tray with parchment paper. Take your measuring teaspoon (with a scoop) and drop dollops of the cookie dough on the tray keeping an inch and half distance. Chill in the refrigerator for 10-20 minutes before baking.
  • Preheat oven to 170o C. Bake cookies for 13-14 minutes until they turn a deep brown and are yet soft in the centre. Once baked leave them on the tray to cool slightly and then transfer them to a wire rack.
Leave a Reply

