VANILLA AND CHOCOLATE MARBLE CAKE

 

imageLately I have been letting my other pursuits take over my free time and my passion for baking?……hmmm, not really. I look back on the past month and I have baked atleast thrice (relatively lesser than I did in Mumbai) So the conclusion I come to is that I have been lazy and not putting it down on my blog. So this morning I woke with a firm resolve to shelve the patchwork runner I am working on, the most trying and absolutely pointless book that I am reading so that I can discuss it at a book club (that’s a discussion for another day!) and get to work on my blog. So the morning started with a few clicks of the the cakes (yes 2 cakes) I made last evening and you will notice that they both look similar but nonetheless different in taste and composition. I must mention out here that I have been baking for the last one month without a weighing scale. I eye balled a cheesecake and the 2 cakes yesterday were a combination of eyeballing and cup measurements, which I rarely do. Just when I shoved the tins into the oven, the doorbell rang and my new weighing scale was delivered. Hah!! Looks like someone up there is testing my patience and love for baking.

So why 2 tea cakes?? Its my husbands Birthday week. Every year I ask him with the same enthusiasm “Which cake do I bake for your birthday?”, with a hope in my heart and a prayer on my lips that he will ask for a gooey, yummy, dripping with chocolate something. Nooo, that’s not what he wants. He wants tea cakes. My monster teen looks at him with his “come-on-are-you-serious” look and pips in “who has sponge cake for his birthday?” we do every year in September (LOL). So I decided to bake 2 cakes, ofcourse tea time cakes with a chocolate element . The Vanilla Chocolate Marble cake and Banana Chocolate swirl cake with a streusel topping. Hopefully that would satisfy both the men.

The marble cake has been adapted from Rum scented Marble cake from Epicurious. I have made it plenty of times and I can’t deny that its been wonderful, so chocolatey that the white vanilla cake is lost. The marbling always turned out muddy with just a few grains of white, I might as well have made a chocolate cake. So this time I reduced the chocolate batter to half and did not put a knife through the cake to marble it. The chocolate forms a ripple through the cake. There are 2 distinct flavours in the cake – an orange scented white sponge and a very gooey, rich vein of oozy chocolate running through it.

image

Tonight I intend to turn it into a dessert with a dollop of fresh cream and drizzle of melted chocolate. Monster teen must know that his Mom isn’t so boring after all!

RECIPE

VANILLA AND CHOCOLATE MARBLE CAKE

Base Batter

1 1/3 cup all-purpose Flour

¾ cup Sugar

1 teaspoon Baking powder

Pinch of salt

175 grams Butter, softened

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

3-4 tablespoons fresh orange juice

Chocolate batter

50 grams dark/ bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled

1 tablespoon cream

¼ teaspoon coffee granules (instant is fine)

¼ teaspoon baking soda

  • Pre Heat the oven to 160o C. Grease and line an 8 inch baking tin.
  • In a large bowl mix together the dry ingredients-flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Give it a stir. Add in the butter and mix on low speed until the mixture is a smooth heavy paste. About 1-2 minutes.
  • Whisk the eggs with a fork in a medium bowl, add in the orange juice and vanilla and mix well. Add the egg mixture to the batter in 3 parts, whisking well for a minute after each addition. Scrape the side of the bowl after you complete mixing.
  • For the Chocolate Batter- combine the cream, coffee and baking soda and add it to the melted chocolate, stir well to dissolve the baking soda. Add ¼ cup of the base batter to the chocolate mixture and stir well to combine.
  • Spoon the 1/3 rd base batter on the base of the prepared tin. With a teaspoon drop the chocolate batter in concentric circles on the base batter. Spoon on another layer of the base batter and continue spooning some chocolate batter over it. Once done, gently run a butter knife or a tooth-pick around the tin in S-shape. Do not over mix, r you will end up with a muddy looking cake. I refrained from running a knife and baked the cake as is.
  • Bake in a pre heat oven for 42 minutes (approx), or remove when the centre of the cake feels firm to touch.
Leave a Reply

